The Dale P. Latimer Library can be accessed in person or online to help the members of the Saint Vincent College Community in their research and studies.
Library Services, the Circulation Desk, and the Library Stacks are located on the Mezzanine Level of the Dale P. Latimer Library, inside the main entrance along the pathway that runs in front of the building. If you choose to enter the building through Prep Hall, you can find all Library Services by going down the grand staircase by the giant pillars to the Mezzanine Level.
Currently enrolled students, faculty, staff, seminarians, and members of the monastery can use the button below to access their account online.
If this if your first time signing in to your account, or you're not sure how to begin, use the following guides to assist you. These guides provide you with general information about the Library and instructions on how to access your account.
Dale P. Latimer Library for STUDENTS
Dale P. Latimer Library for FACULTY
You may see words on the Library's website that you are not sure what they mean. This glossary is designed to introduce you to words that are commonly used in your college library!
Click on the tab to jump to that section of the alphabet and see all of the terms within that letter.
Is there a word you found on the Library's website that you don't see in this glossary? Please notify library staff, and we will make sure it gets added!
Abstract - Summary of a magazine or journal article.
Annotated bibliography - A bibliography in which each entry is accompanied by explanatory notes.
Archives - Collection of documents or records that hold historical significance.
Authenticate / Authentication - Verifying your identity as an authorized researcher allowing the use of the Libraries' online resources and services.
Bibliographic Record - Descriptive information (including the title, author, location, call number, subjects, publisher, and description) of items in a Libraries' catalog.
Bibliography - The list of sources/citations used for a research paper; a list of works written by an author.
Boolean Operators - Simple words (most common are AND, OR, and NOT) used to combine or exclude terms to expand or narrow a search.
Bound Periodicals - Several issues of a magazine or journal fastened together between hard covers.
Call Number- A unique identifying number that acts as an item's address allowing a patron to locate the item on the shelf within a Library.
Catalog- a list of all the materials a library owns.
Circulation Desk- The area of the Library where you may check books out, renew items, place holds, pick-up ILL items, access reserve materials, return items and ask general Library questions.
Closed Collection- Items designated as “closed collection” are not able to be checked out from the Library.
Database- An organized, searchable collection of related information. A Library database differs from an internet search engine by providing content that is evaluated for accuracy, allowing students to locate scholarly information quickly.
E-Book- An electronic book available online. E-books are not available for ILL.
EBSCO Discovery- A search tool that simplifies research by connecting the Library’s entire collection, electronic and print resources, from a single entry point.
Embargo- Period during which articles in a periodical are not available in full-text online.
Folio- Oversized (physically large) books.
Full-Text- The complete text of a resource is online.
Gale Virtual Reference Library- Provides access to an electronic version of Environmental Encyclopedia 3rd ed., Dictionary of American History 3rd ed., and New Catholic Encyclopedia 2nd ed. including the 2010 supplement.
Hold- Placing a hold on an item allows a patron to be “in line” for the next available copy of the requested item.
Holdings-The items owned by the library. The library catalog is a record of the Library holdings.
Incunable/Incunabula- texts that were printed in the earliest stages of printing in Europe, before the year 1500.
InterLibrary Loan- Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service for authorized members of the Saint Vincent community to request library materials not available at the Dale P. Latimer Library.
IPA Source- A database providing phonetic pronunciation guides for vocal performance.
ISBN- International Standard Book Number; A unique number identifying a specific edition of a book.
ISSN- International Standard Serial Number is a unique number assigned to serials worldwide.
Journal - A type of periodical that publishes research-based publications.
JSTOR- An online, interdisciplinary database of more than 600 journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also included are titles in the areas of biology, ecology, and mathematics.
LibGuides- Research and informational content guides that offer Library users information on a wide variety of topics.
Loan Period- The amount of time the library materials may be checked out.
Metadata-A set of data that describes and gives information about other data. "Data about data."
Microfilm/ Microfiche/ Microcard- A space-saving format used for the storage of back issues of newspapers and periodicals. The use of a microfilm/microfiche/microcard reader is needed to read and/or make copies.
Nexis UNI - A database containing full-text newspapers and a variety of other business and legal resources.
Non-circulating - Items marked as “non-circulating” are not able to be checked out from the Library.
Occupational Outlook Handbook- Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, a unit of the U.S. Dept. of Labor. It is a nationally recognized source of career information including training and educational requirements, working conditions, estimated salaries, and career outlook.
OPAC- Online Public Access Catalog, a computerized catalog of the Libraries’ holdings.
Open Access Resources (OA)- Research materials have been made available to the general public, free of charge including books and articles.
Open Educational Resources (OER)- Any type of educational materials that are in the public domain.
OpenAthens- An access management platform and authentication system. It provides Saint Vincent College users access to the Library's electronic resources using single sign-on (SSO) technology.
Overdue- Library material is considered overdue when it is not returned on or before the due date.
Past Masters- A collection of major texts and translations in the history of philosophy and thought.
Patron- Authorized user of the Library who has borrowing privileges.
Peer-Reviewed Journal- A type of periodical that publishes research-based publications. (See Also: Journal)
Periodical- A publication issued periodically on a regular basis.
Permanent Reserves- is a collection of materials that are not associated with a specific class and are intended to be used for reference purposes. All items on Permanent Reserve have a checkout policy of 2 hours and may only be used within the library.
Primary Source- Original source of information on a topic.
Public Domain- Materials that are not under copyright or other restrictions.
Recall- An item that is checked out is needed and must be returned. An item that has been recalled may not be renewed by the patron who currently has the item checked out. ILL items are also subject to recall by the Lending Library.
Reciprocal Borrowing- Borrowing privileges at other libraries.
Reference Books- Dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, directories, etc. that provide specific facts or information or an overview of a subject. These items are typically Library use only, meaning they must be used within the Circulation area.
Repository-A place where items are stored.
Reserves- Materials that are held at the Circulation Desk in the Library by a professor for use by their classes. To use Reserve material, users must present a valid SVC ID card. Most reserve items may be checked out for 2 hours with the stipulation they stay within the Library building.
Scholarly Journal- A type of periodical that publishes research-based publications. (See Also: Journal)
Secondary Source- Sources that are one step removed from primary sources, typically by adding a layer of interpretation and analysis.
Serial- A publication issued periodically on a regular basis. (See Also: Periodical)
Special Collections- A variety of original primary source materials, including rare books, manuscripts, archives, and photographs that require specialized storage. Special Collection Items are non-circulating.
Stacks- The shelves in the Library where books and other materials are stored.
Style Manual- A guide for formatting research papers, citing research sources, and organizing a works cited list, reference list, or bibliography. Commonly used style manuals include APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian.
WEPA Printer- Wireless printers that are available within the Library building.