Research Guides: Free Resources : Media Accessible Online

Media

American Antiquarian Society- Open-Access Digital Collections A national research library and community of learners dedicated to discovering and sharing a deeper understanding of the American past.
Art Institute of Chicago The Art Institute of Chicago open access images.
Artstor Digital Library Freely accessible images, videos, documents, & audio files from library special collections, faculty research, & institutional history materials.
Biodiversity Heritage Library-The @BioDivLibrary Flickr The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community. The @BioDivLibrary Flickr collection is specially curated by book, subject, and contributor to make it easier for you to find images related to specific research needs.
Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative (CDRI) CDRI of Atla and the Association of Theological Schools (ATS) is a collection of digital resources contributed by member libraries.
Digital Public Library of America The Digital Public Library of America resources.
Flickr Commons Libraries, archives, and museums around the world contribute pictures with “no known copyright restrictions.”
Library of Congress Free to Use and Reuse digital collections Links items from the Library's digital collections that are free to use & reuse.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division Images in P&P support the vast range of scholarly resources in the Library, including the history of science, the arts and literature of all countries, as well as the geographically focused research collections in African and Latin American area studies and the cultures of Asia and the Middle East.
Media History Digital Library A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
Moving Image Research Center-Library of Congress The Moving Image Research Center provides access and information services to an international community of film and television professionals, archivists, scholars, and researchers. The Library of Congress began collecting motion pictures in 1893
National Gallery of Art The National Gallery of Art open access images of works of art in the permanent collection.
Open Access at The Met Open Access images from The Met.
Openverse An extensive library of free stock photos, images, and audio, available for free use.
Pexels Free stock photos, royalty free images and videos shared by creators.
Pixabay Royalty-free images and stock: over 4 million+ high quality stock images, videos, and music.
Popular Graphic Art Prints at the Library of Congress (1600s-1970s) The Prints and Photographs Division offers researchers one of the largest collections of popular historical prints in the United States.
Smithsonian Open Access Smithsonian Open Access media.
U.S. News & World Report Magazine Photograph Collection The U.S. News & World Report Magazine Photograph Collection consists of almost 1.2 million original 35 mm and 2 1/4 inch negatives (primarily black & white) and 45,000 contact sheets (negatives contact printed onto photographic paper, multiple images to a page) donated by the U.S. News & World Report, Inc. The collection depicts local, national, and international news topics, with particular emphasis on Washington, D.C., and the United States.
Unsplash Library Over 3 million free high-resolution images brought to you by the world’s most generous community of photographers.
Wikimedia Commons A collection of 96,454,489 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute