Research Guides: Free Resources : Books Accessible Online

Books

Barnes and Noble (free e-books) Download thousands of free eBooks in any genre.
Bartleby.com: Great Books Online Unlimited access to books & information on literature, reference, & verse.
Classic Books-Library of Congress Turn the pages to explore bygone eras, time-honored tales and historical narratives. Adventure awaits in these classic books online.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
FreeBooks4Doctors! Promoting free access to medical books.
JSTOR Open Access Books Open Access books on JSTOR
Million Book Project An early collection of books from the Indian scanning centers of the Universal Library Project, sometimes called the Million Books Project.
Smithsonian Libraries books online Digital collections include over 35,000 digitized books & manuscripts, digitized photo collections, ephemera, & seed catalogs.

Textbooks

OER Commons Open Textbooks Hub Curated collections of Open Textbooks and full courses.
OpenStax Peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are free online.
Open Textbook Library Free to use, distribute, & are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.

American Libraries
Collection includes material contributed from across the United States.
Cambridge Digital Library
Cambridge Digital Library resources.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America resources.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation library of historical texts.
Internet Archive-Text Archive
Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts & academic books.
Library of Congress - Research Guides
Index of Library of Congress Research Guides
Library of Congress: Open Access Books Collection
A collection of contemporary open access e-books provided by the Library of Congress
Library of Congress E-Resources Online Catalog
Licensed & recommended free databases, indexing & abstracting services, & full-text reference resources.
Open Library
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks.
Universal Digital Library
The mission of The Universal Digital Library is to create a Universal Library to foster creativity & free access to all human knowledge.

American Bookbinders Museum The American Bookbinders Museum is the only museum of its kind in North America, celebrating and exploring the history, tools and stories of bookbinders and bookbinding.
Digitized Rare Books Titles from the Moore College Library Rare Books Collection.
Illuminated Manuscripts Full-codices & manuscript fragments dating from the mid 13th century.
Princeton Theological Seminary, Theological Commons A digital library of over 150,000 resources on theology & religion, containing books, journals, audio recordings, photographs, manuscripts, and other formats dating from 975 C.E. to the present.
Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Library/Archives The Most Comprehensive Repository of Rock & Roll History!
Special Collections & Archives- Walsh Library Selections from Special Collections and Archives at Fordham University, Walsh Library.
This Week's Hidden Treasure-LOC & HISTORY This Week's Hidden Treasure is an exciting opportunity to examine historically meaningful and culturally relevant artifacts from the treasured collections of the Library of Congress. It's a unique chance to learn more about some of the pieces of history that have shaped our nation.
Vatican Library’s Digital Collections A digital library that provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections.