Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias contain definitions and descriptions of key words and topics that are found in Scripture. They list all of the major words in the Bible, such as people's names, places, concepts, animals, and plants.
Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias are typically organized in alphabetical order. For example, if you are wanting to learn more about the city of Jeruselum, you can flip to J in the dictionary or encyclopedia to find information summarized under the entry for Jeruselum. You will be provided with information about the ancient city, culture, and significance in the Bible. Verses related to the topic may also be listed.
In the Dale P. Latimer Library, you may find Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias in the Reference Section, as well as the regular stacks.
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by
The fascinating story fo Francis fo Assisi, the Italian poet who gave himelf up to the service of the poor and was happy in possessing nothing.
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by
ECPA Gold Medallion The Dictionary of Paul and His Letters is a one-of-a-kind reference work. Following the format of its hightly successful companion volume, the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels, this Dictionary is designed to bring students, teachers, ministers and laypeople abreast of the established conclusions and significant recent developments in Pauline scholarship. No other single reference work presents as much information focused exclusively on Pauline theology, literature, background and scholarship. In a field that recently has undergone significant shifts in perspective, the Dictionary of Paul and His Letters offers a summa of Paul and Pauline studies. In-depth articles focus on individual theological themes (such as law, resurrection and Son of God), broad theological topics (such as Christology, eschatology and the death of Christ), methods of interpretation (such as rhetorical criticism and social-scientific approaches), background topics (such as apocalypticism, Hellenism and Qumran) and various other subjects specifically related to the scholarly study of Pauline theology and literature (such as early catholicism, the center of Paul's theology, and Paul and his interpreters since F. C. Baur). Separate articles are also devoted to each of the Pauline letters to hermeneutics and to preaching Paul today. The Dictionary of Paul and His Letters takes its place alongside the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels in presenting the fruit of evangelical New Testament scholarship at the end of the twentieth century--commited to the authority of Scripture, utilizing the best of critical methods, and maintaining dialogue with contemporary scholarship and challenges facing the church. Reference volumes in the IVP Bible Dictionary Series provide in-depth treatment of biblical and theological topics in an accessible, encyclopedia format, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole.
HarperCollins Bible Dictionary - Revised and Updated by
The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary, revised and updated edition, is the most complete, up-to-date, and accessible guide for the study of the Bible available today. With more than 4,000 lively, informative, and reader-friendly entries, this essential reference book provides all the information you need to understand the Bible. Whether you are a pastor, layperson, or a student of scripture, you will find every important name, place, and subject that makes Bible study come to life. From Aaron to Zurishaddai, here are all the people, events, and ideas of biblical times. This third edition continues in the rich tradition of its predecessors but has been thoroughly updated and revised by a new editorial team under the direction of the premier international scholarly body, the Society of Biblical Literature (SBL). More than half the articles in this book are new, and several dozen charts and tables have also been added as well as updates on recent archaeological discoveries. Over 200 contributors to the HarperCollins Bible Dictionary, from a diverse group of authorities, represent an ecumenical and non-biased viewpoint of scripture from different positions--Roman Catholic, Jewish, mainline Protestant, and evangelical. Filled with explanations of biblical beliefs, language, and insights into the culture and customs of the people who lived in biblical times, this resource will help anyone interested in scripture to more fully appreciate the meaning and message of the Bible.
The Student Bible Dictionary--Expanded and Updated Edition by
Here's an updated, newly designed edition of a popular Bible reference for students of all ages--especially teens who seek to learn more about the Bible and its times. With more than 750,000 copies sold over the past 15 years, The Student Bible Dictionary has helped countless readers better understand scripture. Defining and explaining hundreds of Bible words, names, places, and concepts, this book has been expanded and updated with additional information from newer Bible translations. Scores of color charts, maps, photographs, and illustrations help clarify the text and add visual appeal--and the imagery and design are brand-new! From Aaron to Zipporah, The Student Bible Dictionary--Expanded and Updated Edition is a whole library of accessible, useful information.
The Modern Catholic Encyclopedia by
This authoritative encyclopedia combines a wealth of information with an attractive, easy-to-read format into a reference of value for professionals, parishes, and families alike. A generation has passed since Vatican Council II, and the enthusiasm and euphoria which exhilarated Catholic life in the years that followed the council are misted memories now. The council handed down to us new hopes, new dreams, new challenges; but, above al, it gifted us with a fresh Vision of the Church as a pilgrim people. This second edition of The Modern Catholic Encyclopediagives a succinct and contemporary view to the beliefs, practices, and history of this people. The council invited us to a fresh appreciation of the gifts passed on to us over the centuries, and this new edition of The Modern Catholic Encyclopediawill help in this task. It is edited for readers in English-speaking countries, drawn together by a common language and by shared pastoral concerns and challenges. Consequently, men and women from America, Canada, Australia, Ireland, and Britain have written this work for a multinational readership. It is a work of and for our time, and its topics and themes have been chosen to meet the inquiries and religious curiosity of people today. It is important to note that for the first time in history the vital center for scriptural and theological studies has shifted from continental Europe to America and the English-speaking world, and it has moved from seminary to the college campus. Furthermore, the sacred sciences are no longer exclusive clerical territory, today many of the most respected scholars are lay men and women. And never before has the study of Scripture become such an accepted and vital part of everyday Catholic life. This new edition contains many reVisions and over 150 new entries. It is edited for quick and easy consultation. Over 1,300 cross-referenced entries cover topics from Abel to Armageddon, from feminism to The Zealots. The Modern Catholic Encyclopediaincludes black-and-white maps, drawings, and photographs. Over 200 such illustrations provide valuable visual information and add to the attractiveness of this handsome volume. World, English New entries: Abel Abraham Action Française Acton, John Emerich Adam and Eve Adenauer, Konrad Alexander VI, Pope Anticlericalism Antonelli, Giacomo Armageddon Audo-Da-Fe Baker, David Augustine Barat, Madeleine Sophie Barth, Karl BC-BCE Bernanos, Georges Bernardin, Joseph Louis Bethune, Ade Birgitta of Sweden, St. Brown, Raymond Edward Bruno, Giordano Bultmann, Rudolf Butler, Alban Cardijn, Joseph Cardinal Cardinals, Sacred College of Carroll, Daniel Catholic Charities Catholic Relief Services (CRS) Celibacy (Clerical) Cervantes, Miguel de Chaucer, Geoffrey Clare of Assisi, St. Congar, Yves Consulting the Faithful Covenant House Crucifixion (as Punishment) D''Arcy, Martin Cyril De Foucald, Charles De Gasperi, Alcide De Galle, Charles De Mello, Anthony Deposit of Faith Diaspora Diekmann, Godfrey Leo Discernment of Spirits Dominicans, Third Order Enlightenment, The Ex CordeEcclesiae Feminism First Things Focolare Movement Franco, Francisco Freemantle, Ann Galgani, Gemma Garces, Francisco Girls and Boys Town Girotti, Guiseppe Glynn, Tony Gorres, Johann Griffiths, Bede Guinness, Alec Han Mac Tu Häring, Bernard Hildebrand, Dietrich von Hildegard of Bingen Hispanic Catholics (U.S.A.) Hitchcock, Alfred Joseph Howell, Clifford Hoyt, Robert G. Hume, Basil, Cardinal Illich, Ivan Inquisition(s), The Japan, Church in Joan of Arc John Paul II, Pope John Paul II, Pope, Social Teaching of Kennedy, John Fitzgerald Kim Dinh King James Bible Kitahara, Satoko Knights of Labor La Pira, Georgio Labre, Benedict Joseph, St. Lacugna, Catherine Mowry Levertov, Denise MacEoin, Gary Machiavelli, Niccolo McCormick, Richard A. Martindale, Cyril Marx, Michael Joseph Mauriac, François Charles Maurin, Peter Mexico, Catholic Church in Moses Mother Angelica Mother Teresa of Calcutta Moynihan, Daniel Patrick Muggeridge, Malcolm Mysticism Nagai, Takashi Nantes, Edict of National Catholic Reporter Nguyen, Truong To Nguyen, Van Thuan Nouwen, Henri O''Connor, John Oxford Movement Pacem in Terris Pakenham, Peter Percy, Walker Polycarp Poor Clares Pope, Election of Prayer of St. Francis Publican Quadragesima Qu''ran, The Rabbi Reception Reinhold, Hans Anscar Renan, Joseph Ernest Rerum Novarum Rice School of Pastoral Ministry Roman Curia Sensus Fidelium Serenity Prayer, The Serra, Junipero Shepherd of Hermas Shroud of Turin Spiritual Direction Stewart, George Craig Stuhlmueller, Carrol Suenens, Leon Joseph Tegels, Aelred Hilary Tertullian, Quintas Septimus Thurston, Herb?ert Tillard, Jean-Marie Roger Trusteeism Undset, Singrid Valignano, Alessandro Vietnam, The Catholic Church in Voice of the Faithful Vonier, Anschaire Waling Wall Wolff, Madaleva Women''s Ordination Zealots, The Zebrowski, Zeno Zechariah, Father of John the Baptist
Encyclopedia of Catholic Literature [2 Volumes] by
The Roman Catholic faith has inspired some of the world's greatest creative works and has been a powerful force in history from the Roman Empire to the present. Catholic writers reflect their heritage in their works, and generations of readers have continued to appreciate the Catholic literary tradition. Many works by Catholic writers hold a high place in the literary canon and have exerted a tremendous cultural and political influence. Still others continue to be widely read by contemporary readers and quietly shape modern society. Some works, too, reflect the conflicts of the Catholic Church in the 21st century and capture the struggles of individual Catholics in a secular society. This encyclopedia covers the vast riches of the Catholic literary tradition from its origins to the present day. Included are substantial entries on more than 70 major works from around the world. A special effort has been made to cover women writers and writers of diverse racial and ethnic backgrounds, whose works reflect the many dimensions of the Catholic experience. The encyclopedia provides entries on such writers and works as St. Augustine's Confessions, Catherine of Siena's Dialogue, Dante's The Divine Comedy, Sandra Cisneros' The House on Mango Street, J.R.R. Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings, and Muriel Spark's Memento Mori. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and includes a biography of the writer, a plot summary of a major work, an extended critical discussion, an overview of the work's critical reception, and a selected bibliography. The entries give detailed attention to particular works and explore their relation to Catholic thought. The encyclopedia concludes with a selected, general bibliography.