Bible commentaries are a reference source that helps researchers by providing detailed explanations about specific books of the Bible. Written by Bible scholars, they provide explanations or interpretations of Scripture.
Bible Commentaries are typically organized passage by passage. They will be organized by book, chapter, and verse, in the same order that you find in the Bible.
In the Dale P. Latimer Library, you may find Bible Commentaries in the Reference Section, as well as the regular stacks. We have some Bible Commentaries that include all of the books of the bible in one volume. We also have volume sets, where each book of the Bible is contained in its own volume.
Below are several examples of Bible Commentaries that you will find in the Dale P. Latimer Library.
Collegeville Bible Commentary by
The one-volume, hardcover edition of The Collegeville Bible Commentary was prepared to meet the needs of those students of the Bible who need reference to more than one book of the Bible or who prefer to use their own Bible. It contains the same expert commentary that characterized the series of booklets; the authors have even adapted their commentary to accord with the New American Bible (1986) The full Scripture texts are not included in this commentary-only edition.
HarperCollins Bible Commentary - Revised Edition by
The Bible -- sacred scripture, literary classic, historical document. No matter how it is viewed, it remains the basis of much of Western culture. This fully revised edition of the HarperCollins Bible Commentary is the most up-to-date reference book of its kind for understanding and interpreting the meaning of the Bible. The accessible and highly readable format sets a new standard for excellence. The Commentary covers all of the Hebrew Bible, as well as the books of the Apocrypha and those of the New Testament, and thus addresses the biblical canons of Judaism, Catholicism, Eastern Orthodoxy, and Protestantism. its innovative format covers the books of the Bible in three ways: General essays setting the literary, cultural, and historical context for the entire Bible Articles introducing major sections of the Bible Commentaries on the individual books themselves by the finest contemporary biblical scholars The HarperCollins Bible Commentary is unprecedented in its clarity, organization, and insight into the Bible. Helpful cross-references to its companion, the HarperCollins Bible Dictionary, mean that readers will have all they need to explore the riches of the Scriptures for years to come. Every section of the Commentary offers concise and authoritative guidance that will enable the reader to return to the text equipped to understand and appreciate the Bible more fully. Each of the eighty-three contributors to this splendid volume is a leading expert in his or her field and a member of the Society of Biblical Literature. They have produced a volume that belongs in homes, schools, houses of worship, and libraries -- wherever there is a Bible. General editor James L. Mays is the Cyrus McCormick Professor of Hebrew and the Old Testament Emeritus at Union Theological Seminary in Richmond, Virginia. He has served as president of the Society of Biblical Literature and is a widely respected author and editor.
International Bible Commentary by
What do readers engaged in pastoral concerns want to know about the Bible? To this question men and women from many different countries, continents, and languages have collaborated to supply an answer in The International Bible Commentary (IBC) - a one-volume Bible commentary for the Church of the twenty-first century. Initiated by international scholars as a Catholic and ecumenical, academic and pastoral enterprise, The International Bible Commentary brings together many voices speaking from different cultural perspectives to interpret God''s word in the Bible. These voices, gathered from South America, Europe, Australia, Africa, North America, India, Asia, and the Philippines, have written their commentaries and articles from a variety of perspectives so that the spirit of many world cultures can be experienced in the celebration of the Bible today. A ground-breaking achievement for pastors and preachers across the globe, The International Bible Commentary enables people to read and teach the Bible by helping them to recover the ancient biblical truth in all its warmth and power, yet within modern contexts. The international strength of this work is confirmed by the participation of publishers who are committed to producing editions in English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Polish. The International Bible Commentary meets the specific needs and requirements of pastors using a one-volume Bible commentary. In addition to articles on text and the canon of the Bible, interpretation, and biblical theology always asking what does a pastor need to know about these subjects: essays on contemporary issues are also included, such as Church and state, ecology and the Bible, justice, poverty, and work. Pastors'' guides tie together the biblical commentaries and the general articles and focus on themes such as the Bible and preaching, the Bible and liturgy, the Bible and Christian education, the Bible and social action, and the Bible and pastoral care. The commentary takes note of each biblical book''s use in the Church''s liturgy. Scholars will also be impressed by the global methodological and systematic approach of The International Bible Commentary. Using the modern historical-critical method, the commentators emulate the exegetical approaches of early Christian scholars such as Irenaeus, Tertullian, and Origen, and include information on how the texts have provided vital guidance to the Church throughout the world. The International Bible Commentary has prompted, for the first time, communication between commentary authors and other experts, who have come together to critique each other''s work. This mutual enlightenment has enhanced the quality of each presentation. The International Bible Commentary meets the needs of the general reader as well by translating the language of scientific exegesis into language that is easy to understand. Through clear prose, introductory articles, and commentary relevant to living the message of the Bible today, The International Bible Commentary anticipates the questions of the modern reader, asking "What are his or her ideas, presuppositions, and expectations?" The International Bible Commentary''s general articles treat selected questions about interpreting the Bible, while the body of the text consists of commentaries on the books of the Bible presented in the general order traditionally given those books in the first millennium of the Christian era. Each commentary has two parts: First Reading and Second Reading. The First Reading identifies the subject of the book as a whole, which is necessary for grasping the real context and sense of individual verses and chapters. The Second Reading fills out the general insight with the passionate details of poetry and preaching and history. Positioned throughout the commentaries are excursuses that clarify key words and concepts. Sixteen pages of color maps and a series of line-drawings especially prepared for this commentary highlight sites of particular importance. The teamwork approach to The International Bible Commentary offers a sense of belonging to an international community of interpreters who take seriously their accountability to God''s people in reading Scripture. Stressing that it is not enough simply to pass on the latest scholarship on a text, the contributors to The International Bible Commentary have made the statement of the scholar a life-giving word to the reader. It is because of this distinctly collaborative effort that pastors, preachers, and laypeople have in hand a means for making the Bible come alive with relevant messages for the contemporary world. The contributors to this work have been selected for their scholarship and competence. Among the many distinguished contributors are: S. Oyin Abogunrin, Jose Maria Abrego, SJ, Ofoso Adutwum, Jean-Noel Aletti, SJ, Ana Flora Anderson, Paulo Andinach, Gonzalo Aranda Perez, Eduardo Arens Kuckerlkorn, SM, Olivier Artus, Jesus Asurmendi Ruiz, Santiago Ausin, David Balas, O. Cist., Giuseppe Bettenzoli, Maria Claralucchetti Bingemer, D. Jeffrey Bingham, Joseph Blenkinsopp, Lawrence Boadt, CSP, Normand Bonneau, OMI, Fran#65533;ois Bovon, Barbara Bozak, Georg Braulik, OSB, Camilla Burns, SND de N, Antony Campbell, SJ, Jose Cervantes Gabarron, Enzo Cortese, OFM, John Craghan, Manual Diaz Mateos, SJ, Donald Deer, Daniel Deffenbaugh, David Dungan, M. Timothea Elliott, RSM, E. Earle Ellis, Erik Eynikel, Denis Farkasfalvy, O. Cist., Kathleen Farmer, William R. Farmer, Cain Hope Felder, Victor Manuel Fernandez, Reginald C. Fuller, Jean Galot, SJ, Florentino Garcia Martinez, Timothy Gollob, Mark Goodwin, Gilberto Gorgulho, OP, Adrian Graffy, Paul Hanson, Daniel Harrington, SJ, Paul Hinnebusch, OP, Jan Holman, SVD, Virgil Howard, John C. Hurd, Humberto Jimenez G., Hans-Winfried Jungling, SJ, Charles Kannengiesser, John Karavidopoulos, Roch Kereszty, O. Cist., Young Bong Kim, John Kloppenborg, Tomas Kraft, OP, Andre LaCocque, Jan Lambrecht, SJ, Patriciale Noir, Adrian Leske, Armando Levoratti, Norbert Lohfink, SJ, Jose Loza Vera, OP, Margaret Y. MacDonald, Tembal. J. Mafico, Francis Martin, Luca Mazzinghi, Sean McEvenue. The International Bible Commentary * is the first one-volume Bible commentary created specifically for pastors and preachers world- wide * is a Catholic and ecumenical, international resource for the Church of the twenty-first century * includes contributors from many Christian communions and six continents, including 32 countries * uses the modern historical-critical method * translates the language of scientific exegesis into the language of the common reader * includes general articles that treat selected questions about interpreting the Bible * includes essays on contemporary issues in addition to articles on text and the canon of the Bible, interpretation, and biblical theology * includes guides for pastors to relate the biblical commentaries and the general articles * offers cross references to the books of the Bible * includes concise commentaries on the books of the Bible * clarifies how the commentary should be read * defines key words and concepts in the Bible * includes sixteen pages of full-color maps and a series of line-drawings especially prepared for this commentary that highlight sites of particular importance Sean McEvenue is professor of Old Testament theology at Concordia University in Montreal, Canada. His training with the Jesuits, mostly in Toronto, introduced him to biblical scholarship and the thought of the distinguished Jesuit theologian Bernard Lonergan. He completed his biblical studies at the Pontifical Biblical Institute in Rome, writing a Doctorate in 1970 under the direction of Norbert Lohfink, SJ. His publications consist of books and articles centered on the sources of the Pentateuch, and focus on questions about truth and meaning of biblical texts. His main concern has been to exploit the clarity achieved in Lonergan''s model of theological method, in order to redefine the tasks of biblical interpretation. He is the author of Interpretation and Bible, andInterpreting the Penteteuch, published by The Liturgical Press. William R. Farmer is emeritus professor of New Testament at Perkins School of Theology, and research scholar at the University of Dallas. At Cambridge he studied with C. H. Dodd while completing a degree in philosophy of Religion and Christian Ethics. His Doctoral work at Union Theological Seminary was with John Knox. Farmer began writing on the social history of pre-70 Judaism and thereafter entered the field of synoptic studies. From 1965 to 1989 he worked closely with Albert C. Outler. His recent publications focus on the problem of Christian origins. Farmer is a Guggenheim Fellow and a Fellow of the International Institute for Gospel Studies. He was an invited Visiting Fellow at Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge, in the spring of 1995. David Laird Dungan was born in China, the son of Presbyterian missionaries. An ordained Presbyterian minister, he serves as Lindsay Young Distinguished Professor of Humanities in the Department of Religious Studies at the University of Tennessee. He completed a degree in theology at McCormick Theological Seminary in 1962 and obtained his doctorate from Harvard Divinity School in 1967, working with Krister Stendal and Helmut Koester. His early writings focused on the sayings of Jesus in the letters of Paul and on ancient documents relevant to study of the Gospels. He is broadly published in synoptic studies. Armando J. Levoratti is Professor of Old Testament at the Seminario Mayor in La Plata, Argentina. He is a member of the Pontifical Biblical Commission and the editor of Revista Bibli
Sacra Pagina Series by
Matthew wrote his Gospel from his perspective as a Jew. It is with sensitivity to this perspective that Father Harrington undertakes this commentary on the Gospel of Matthew. After an introduction, he provides a literal translation of each section in Matthew's Gospel and explains the textual problems, philological difficulties, and other matters in the notes. He then presents a literary analysis of each text (content, form, use of sources, structure). Bibliographies direct the reader to other important modern studies.
The Oxford Bible Commentary by
Whether you see the Bible as the living word of God, or as a highly significant document from the ancient world, or as one of the classic works of world literature, The Oxford Bible Commentary will put in your hands everything you need to study and understand the biblical text. Here is a monumental, line-by-line critical commentary on the Bible, covering all the books that appear in the NRSV. An essential reference work, this definitive book provides authoritative, non-denominational commentary written by an international team of more than 70 leading scholars from various religious backgrounds. Incorporating the latest research, the contributors examine the books of the Bible in exhaustive detail, taking a historical-critical approach that attempts to shed light on the scriptures by placing them in the context in which their first audiences would have encountered them, asking how they came to be composed and what were the purposes of their authors. The Commentary includes a general introduction, extensive introductions to both testaments and the Apocrypha, and briefer introductions to the particular books, plus an essay with commentary on important post-biblical Jewish and Christian literature. Each article concludes with a bibliography that points the reader toward the most important supplemental works in English, including major reference works, introductions, and so forth. A truly stunning work of biblical scholarship, The Oxford Bible Commentary will be an invaluable resource for pastors preparing a sermon, for students, for those in study or discussion groups, and indeed for anyone--whether Jewish, Catholic, Protestant, or Orthodox Christian--who seeks a clearer perspective on a text that has been held in reverence for thousands of years. The OBC features a Logos Library System CD-ROM that, once unlocked, gives the reader access to its text and that of the New Revised Standard Version Bible. The CD is fully compatible with all Logos products. * Detailed verse-by-verse commentary, written by over 70 of the world's leading biblical scholars from all the major Christian traditions and Judaism. * Includes all the canonical books for the Protestant, Catholic, and Orthodox traditions, and non-biblical Jewish and Christian writings from the biblical era. * Combines the fruits of the historical-critical method with insights from other critical approaches to Bible study. * Includes major introductions to every biblical book. * Bibliographies of supplemental works in English are located throughout the book, making in-depth study of topics easier. * 11 full color, Oxford Bible Maps. * Two ribbon markers make it easy to keep one's place in the book.
