Public History

Features select primary source documents related to critical people & events in African American history.

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963.

The Foster and Muriel McCarl Coverlet Gallery is a nonprofit cultural organization that collects, preserves, interprets and disseminates the history of weaving and folk traditions in the Northeastern region of the United States.

The Fred Rogers Archive preserves over 22,000 items from Fred Rogers' personal and professional life.

Google Newspaper Archives is includes a browsable title list with the years covered for each title.

Links to freely available full text articles.

HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation library of historical texts.

The Heinz History Center is Pennsylvania’s largest history museum and a proud affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution. It is devoted to the history and heritage of Western Pennsylvania.

Historical Voices is a collection of spoken-word materials.

JSTOR Early Journal Content is a selection of journals published before 1923 in the United States & before 1870 elsewhere.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias online resources offers comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a wide range of topics.

Explore thousands of digitized documents & photographs from unique collections in libraries across Pennsylvania.

Freely accessible web resource developed by Penn State University Libraries. The archive provides access to the Commonwealth’s historical newspapers.

Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks.

The Saint Vincent Archabbey Gristmill, built by the Benedictine monks has been in continuous operation since 1854. It has endured for many years to serve as a symbol of Western Pennsylvania’s agricultural heritage and of the vision of Saint Vincent founder Boniface Wimmer.

Digital collections include over 35,000 digitized books & manuscripts, digitized photo collections, ephemera, & seed catalogs.

The VCA is dedicated to the advancement and integration of the arts within the Saint Vincent College community. The Center devotes 5,000+ square feet to hosting rotating exhibitions as well as selections from permanent art collections of Saint Vincent College and Saint Vincent Archabbey.