History

The papers of Alexander Hamilton (ca. 1757-1804), first treasury secretary of the United States, consist of his personal and public correspondence, drafts of his writings (although not his Federalist essays), and correspondence among members of the Hamilton and Schuyler families.

American Classical League (ACL) is a professional organization which promotes the study of classical civilization at all levels of education in the United States and Canada.

The only free online searchable database of presidential documents on the internet.

Archiving Early America provides the in-depth background that allows you to understand this country's formative years.

Book about the creation of Westmoreland County, February 26, 1773

Features select primary source documents related to critical people & events in African American history.

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963.

Browse resources, organized by subject

Library of Congress Guides on American Women History

The Veterans History Project at the Library of Congress collects, preserves and makes accessible the first hand recollections of U.S. military veterans who served from World War I through more recent conflicts and peacekeeping missions.

Explore thousands of digitized documents & photographs from unique collections in libraries across Pennsylvania.

Freely accessible web resource developed by Penn State University Libraries. The archive provides access to the Commonwealth’s historical newspapers.

The Library of Congress is home to many of the most important documents in American history. This Web site provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents.

U.S. Presidential Inaugurations: A Resource Guide

Historic Pittsburgh comprises primary and secondary sources about the greater Pittsburgh region, including a wide range of publications, maps, manuscripts, visual images, and audio-video materials, that support personal and scholarly research.

Digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government from ancient times to the 21st century.

Focuses on non-documentary texts written before the year 800

Open access sources are readily available to all. Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural).

Links to freely available full text articles.

HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation library of historical texts.

Historical Voices is a collection of spoken-word materials.

JSTOR Early Journal Content is a selection of journals published before 1923 in the United States & before 1870 elsewhere.

Electronic versions of texts from the Ancient, Medieval and Early Modern periods.

Library of Congress History Research Guides

Classical antiquity refers to the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome and spans the period from the eighth century BC to the end of the fifth century AD.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias online resources offers comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a wide range of topics.

A large body of writings of the Church Fathers and other ecclesiastical writers published by Jacques-Paul Migne between 1841 and 1855

Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks.

Digital collections include over 35,000 digitized books & manuscripts, digitized photo collections, ephemera, & seed catalogs.