These books are books that you can check out from the Library. You can visit the stacks to find them and check them out at the Circulation Desk. Clicking the title of the book will take you to the catalog entry, where you can also place a request for the book.
Gateway to Freedom by
The dramatic story of fugitive slaves and the antislaveryactivists who defied the law to help them reach freedom. More than any other scholar, Eric Foner has influenced our understanding of America's history. Now, making brilliant use of extraordinary evidence, the Pulitzer Prize-winning historian once again reconfigures the national saga of American slavery and freedom. A deeply entrenched institution, slavery lived on legally and commercially even in the northern states that had abolished it after the American Revolution. Slaves could be found in the streets of New York well after abolition, traveling with owners doing business with the city's major banks, merchants, and manufacturers. New York was also home to the North's largest free black community, making it a magnet for fugitive slaves seeking refuge. Slave catchers and gangs of kidnappers roamed the city, seizing free blacks, often children, and sending them south to slavery. To protect fugitives and fight kidnappings, the city's free blacks worked with white abolitionists to organize the New York Vigilance Committee in 1835. In the 1840s vigilance committees proliferated throughout the North and began collaborating to dispatch fugitive slaves from the upper South, Washington, and Baltimore, through Philadelphia and New York, to Albany, Syracuse, and Canada. These networks of antislavery resistance, centered on New York City, became known as the underground railroad. Forced to operate in secrecy by hostile laws, courts, and politicians, the city's underground-railroad agents helped more than 3,000 fugitive slaves reach freedom between 1830 and 1860. Until now, their stories have remained largely unknown, their significance little understood. Building on fresh evidence--including a detailed record of slave escapes secretly kept by Sydney Howard Gay, one of the key organizers in New York--Foner elevates the underground railroad from folklore to sweeping history. The story is inspiring--full of memorable characters making their first appearance on the historical stage--and significant--the controversy over fugitive slaves inflamed the sectional crisis of the 1850s. It eventually took a civil war to destroy American slavery, but here at last is the story of the courageous effort to fight slavery by "practical abolition," person by person, family by family.
A History of the World in 12 Maps by
From the author of The Sultan and the Queen, a fascinating look at twelve maps--from Ancient Greece to Google Earth--and how they changed our world In this masterful study, historian and cartography expert Jerry Brotton explores a dozen of history's most influential maps, from stone tablet to vibrant computer screen. Starting with Ptolemy, "father of modern geography," and ending with satellite cartography, A History of the World in 12 Maps brings maps from classical Greece, Renaissance Europe, and the Islamic and Buddhist worlds to life and reveals their influence on how we--literally--look at our present world. As Brotton shows, the long road to our present geographical reality was rife with controversy, manipulation, and special interests trumping science. Through the centuries maps have been wielded to promote any number of imperial, religious, and economic agendas, and have represented the idiosyncratic and uneasy fusion of science and subjectivity. Brotton also conjures the worlds that produced these notable works of cartography and tells the stories of those who created, used, and misused them for their own ends.
The Shape of the New by
How four revolutionary ideas from the Enlightenment shaped today's world This panoramic book tells the story of how revolutionary ideas from the Enlightenment about freedom, equality, evolution, and democracy have reverberated through modern history and shaped the world as we know it today. A testament to the enduring power of ideas, The Shape of the New offers unforgettable portraits of Adam Smith, Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, Charles Darwin, and Karl Marx--heirs of the Enlightenment who embodied its highest ideals about progress--and shows how their thoughts, over time and in the hands of their followers and opponents, transformed the very nature of our beliefs, institutions, economies, and politics. Yet these ideas also hold contradictions. They have been used in the service of brutal systems such as slavery and colonialism, been appropriated and twisted by monsters like Stalin and Hitler, and provoked reactions against the Enlightenment's legacy by Islamic Salafists and the Christian Religious Right. The Shape of the New argues that it is impossible to understand the ideological and political conflicts of our own time without familiarizing ourselves with the history and internal tensions of these world-changing ideas. With passion and conviction, it exhorts us to recognize the central importance of these ideas as historical forces and pillars of the Western humanistic tradition. It makes the case that to read the works of the great thinkers is to gain invaluable insights into the ideas that have shaped how we think and what we believe.
War and Gold by
The world was wild for gold. After discovering the Americas, and under pressure to defend their vast dominion, the Habsburgs of Spain promoted gold and silver exploration in the New World with ruthless urgency. But, the great influx of wealth brought home by plundering conquistadors couldn't compensate for the Spanish government's extraordinary military spending, which would eventually bankrupt the country multiple times over and lead to the demise of the great empire. Gold became synonymous with financial dependability, and following the devastating chaos of World War I, the gold standard came to express the order of the free market system. Warfare in pursuit of wealth required borrowing -- a quickly compulsive dependency for many governments. And when people lost confidence in the promissory notes and paper currencies issued during wartime, governments again turned to gold. In this captivating historical study, Kwarteng exposes a pattern of war-waging and financial debt -- bedmates like April and taxes that go back hundreds of years, from the French Revolution to the emergence of modern-day China. His evidence is as rich and colorful as it is sweeping. And it starts and ends with gold.
These Reference Books can be found in the Reference Section of the Library Stacks. They CANNOT be checked out and must be used within the Circulation Desk Area. There is a copier near the Circulation Desk where you may make copies of needed pages.
Atlas of American History by
This full-color atlas spans the entire breadth of American history, from precolonial times to the present day. Vivid photographs, illustrations, and maps combine with graphs, charts, and boxed features to produce a lively, accessible reference. A perfect companion to ""Atlas of American Military History"" (see page 25), this beautifully illustrated atlas contains complete, up-to-date coverage of the cultural, historical, political, and social history of America. Beginning with the earliest settlement of the Americas more than 12,000 years ago, this stunning atlas integrates detailed maps with engaging narrative text. Unlike the competition, ""Atlas of American History"" gives thorough coverage of military history as well as migration, social, and religious history. It is divided into 10 chronologically arranged sections and is designed in accordance with the National Standards for United States History. Completely comprehensive and relevant, ""Atlas of American History"" includes a final chapter describing key operations on the war on terror. Providing accessible, authoritative coverage, this atlas is the perfect complement to any study of American history.
Chronology of European History by
From antiquity to current times, these 413 essays examine the events that shaped European civilization. All areas of historic importance have been surveyed, from race and religion to uprisings and civil unrest. From the building of Stonehenge to the NATO-Russia Pact, this series covers 94 events from ancient history, 121 events from the Middle Ages, and 198 events from the Renaissance through the 20th century. Nearly 300 photos, 31 maps. Key Word Index. Category and Geographical Lists. Time Line. Personages and Subject Indexes.
Milestone documents in American history:exploring the primary sources that shaped America by
Milestone Documents is a new series combining full-text primary source documents with engaging, readable analysis. Plus free online access to the full content of this great reference set is available.""Exploring the Primary Sources That Shaped America"" launches the Schlager Group's ""Milestone Documents"". This series brings primary source documents and insightful analysis to Salem's history offerings. The series is also a key part of Salem History, the new online database available free to purchasers of the print edition.Primary source documents have always occupied a central role in the study of history. Most existing reference sources, however, treat these documents as an afterthought. This new series - the focus of a new imprint by the Schlager Group, and available exclusively through Salem Press - fills the gap by offering students and researchers in-depth, analytical essays illuminating famous primary source documents from U.S. and world history.The first publication in this remarkable series is ""Milestone Documents in American History: Exploring the Primary Sources That Shaped America"". This fully illustrated, four-volume series will treat more than 130 iconic documents from the Revolutionary era to the twenty-first century.""Milestone Documents in American History"" offers an innovative approach to historical reference. Each entry includes the full text of the document in question as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context. With content aligned to the National History Standards and signed essays written by a team of nearly 100 esteemed historians, ""Milestone Documents in American History"" offers an unparalleled reference tool for students conducting primary source research.Among the documents included in the set are Revolutionary era standards such as Patrick Henry's ""Liberty or Death"" speech, the Declaration of Independence, and the Constitution. Important presidential sources include Thomas Jefferson's first inaugural address, Abraham Lincoln's Gettysburg Address, John F. Kennedy's 1963 address on integration, and George W. Bush's address on September 11, 2001. Influential decisions of the Supreme Court are also included, from Brown v. Board of Education to Bush v. Gore. Critical documents related to minority rights are also present: Andrew Jackson's message ""On Indian Removal,"" the Seneca Falls Declaration, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s ""I Have a Dream"" speech, and the Equal Rights Amendment.Special features include a general subject index, an index by category, and hundreds of photographs and other images. In addition, history educators will find eight detailed and useful teacher's guides containing dozens of student activities.
Times complete history of the world by
Human origins and early cultures -- The first civilizations -- The classical civilizations of Eurasia -- The world of divided religions -- The world of the emerging West -- The age of European dominance -- The age of global civilization
These Electronic Books can be found through our EBSCO eBook Collection. You will be able to access the full text of the item by signing in using your SVC credentials.
Hard Rain : Bob Dylan, Oral Cultures, and the Meaning of History by
Bob Dylan's iconic 1962 song “A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall” stands at the crossroads of musical and literary traditions. A visionary warning of impending apocalypse, it sets symbolist imagery within a structure that recalls a centuries-old form. Written at the height of the 1960s folk music revival amid the ferment of political activism, the song strongly resembles—and at the same time reimagines—a traditional European ballad sung from Scotland to Italy, known in the English-speaking world as “Lord Randal.”Alessandro Portelli explores the power and resonance of “A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall,” considering the meanings of history and memory in folk cultures and in Dylan's work. He examines how the ballad tradition to which “Lord Randal” belongs shaped Dylan's song and how Dylan drew on oral culture to depict the fears and crises of his own era. Portelli recasts the song as an encounter between Dylan's despairing vision, which questions the meaning and direction of history, and the message of resilience and hope for survival despite history's nightmares found in oral traditions.A wide-ranging work of oral history, Hard Rain weaves together interviews from places as varied as Italy, England, and India with Portelli's autobiographical reflections and critical analysis, speaking to the enduring appeal of Dylan's music. By exploring the motley traditions that shaped Dylan's work, this book casts the distinctiveness and depth of his songwriting in a new light.
Over My Dead Body by
A lively tour through the history of US cemeteries that explores how, where, and why we bury our dead The summer before his senior year in college, Greg Melville worked at the cemetery in his hometown, and thanks to hour upon hour of pushing a mower over the grassy acres, he came to realize what a rich story the place told of his town and its history. Thus was born Melville's lifelong curiosity with how, where, and why we bury and commemorate our dead. Melville's Over My Dead Body is a lively (pun intended) and wide-ranging history of cemeteries, places that have mirrored the passing eras in history but also have shaped it. Cemeteries have given birth to landscape architecture and famous parks, as well as influenced architectural styles. They've inspired and motivated some of our greatest poets and authors--Emerson, Whitman, Dickinson. They've been used as political tools to shift the country's discourse and as important symbols of the United States' ambition and reach. But they are changing and fading. Embalming and burial is incredibly toxic, and while cremations have just recently surpassed burials in popularity, they're not great for the environment either. Over My Dead Body explores everything--history, sustainability, land use, and more--and what it really means to memorialize. Locales visited in Over My Dead BodyShawsheen Cemetery - Bedford, MassachusettsThe 1607 Burial Ground - Historic Jamestowne, VirginiaBurial Hill - Plymouth, MassachusettsColonial Jewish Burial Ground - Newport, Rhode IslandMonticello's African American Graveyard - Charlottesville, VirginiaMount Auburn Cemetery - Cambridge, MassachusettsGreen-Wood Cemetery - Brooklyn, New YorkLaurel Grove Cemetery - Savannah, GeorgiaSleepy Hollow Cemetery - Concord, MassachusettsCentral Park - New York, New YorkGettysburg National Cemetery - Gettysburg, PennsylvaniaArlington National Cemetery - Arlington, VirginiaWoodlawn Cemetery - Bronx, New YorkBoothill Graveyard - Tombhill, ArizonaForest Lawn Memorial-Park - Glenwood, CaliforniaThe Chapel of the Chimes - Oakland, CaliforniaHollywood Forever Cemetery - Los Angeles, CaliforniaNature's Sanctuary - Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Patterns of Plague by
For centuries, recurrent plague outbreaks took a grim toll on populations across Europe and Asia. While medical interventions and treatments did not change significantly from the fourteenth century to the eighteenth century, understandings of where and how plague originated did. Through an innovative reading of medical advice literature produced in England and France, Patterns of Plague explores these changing perceptions across four centuries. When plague appeared in the Mediterranean region in 1348, physicians believed the epidemic's timing and spread could be explained logically and the disease could be successfully treated. This confidence resulted in the widespread and long-term circulation of plague tracts, which described the causes and signs of the disease, offered advice for preventing infection, and recommended therapies in a largely consistent style. What, where, and especially who was blamed for plague outbreaks changed considerably, however, as political, religious, economic, intellectual, medical, and even publication circumstances evolved. Patterns of Plague sheds light on what was consistent about plague thinking and what was idiosyncratic to particular places and times, revealing the many factors that influence how people understand and respond to epidemic disease.
Pleasure and Leisure in the Middle Ages and Early Modern Age by
Jan Huizinga and Roger Caillois have already taught us to realize how important games and play have been for pre-modern civilization. Recent research has begun to acknowledge the fundamental importance of these aspects in cultural, religious, philosophical, and literary terms. This volume expands on the traditional approach still very much focused on the materiality of game (toys, cards, dice, falcons, dolls, etc.) and acknowledges that game constituted also a form of coming to terms with human existence in an unstable and volatile world determined by universal randomness and fortune. Whether considering blessings or horse fighting, falconry or card games, playing with dice or dolls, we can gain a much deeper understanding of medieval and early modern society when we consider how people pursued pleasure and how they structured their leisure time. The contributions examine a wide gamut of approaches to pleasure, considering health issues, eroticism, tournaments, playing music, reading and listening, drinking alcohol, gambling and throwing dice. This large issue was also relevant, of course, in non-Christian societies, and constitutes a critical concern both for the past and the present because we are all homines ludentes.