**This search box only locates physical items in the Dale P. Latimer Library. For eBooks or journal articles, please use the search box on the Articles/Databases page.**
These books are books that you can check out from the Library. You can visit the stacks to find them and check them out at the Circulation Desk. Clicking the title of the book will take you to the catalog entry, where you can also place a request for the book.
Notes on Nightingale
by
Florence Nightingale remains an inspiration to nurses around the world for her pioneering work treating wounded British soldiers during the Crimean War; authorship of Notes on Nursing, the foundational text for nursing practice; establishment of the world's first nursing school; and advocacy for the hygienic treatment of patients and sanitary design of hospitals. In Notes on Nightingale, nursing historians and scholars offer their valuable reflections on Nightingale and analysis of her role in the profession a century after her death on 13 August 1910 and 150 years since the Nightingale School of Nursing (now the Florence Nightingale School of Nursing and Midwifery at King's College, London) opened its doors to probationers at St Thomas' Hospital. There is a great deal of controversy about Nightingale--opinions about her life and work range from blind worship to blanket denunciation. The question of Nightingale and her place in nursing history and in contemporary nursing discourse is a topic of continuing interest for nursing students, teachers, and professional associations. This book offers new scholarship on Nightingale's work in the Crimea and the British colonies and her connection to the emerging science of statistics, as well as valuable reevaluations of her evolving legacy and the surrounding myths, symbolism, and misconceptions. Contributors: Judith Godden, University of Sydney; Carol Helmstadter, RN (Toronto); Joan E. Lynaugh, University of Pennsylvania; M. Eileen Magnello, University College London; Lynn McDonald, University of Guelph; Sioban Nelson, University of Toronto; Anne Marie Rafferty, King's College, London; Rachel Verney, Florence Nightingale School of Nursing and Midwifery (Visiting Associate, August 2009); Rosemary Wall, King's College, London
These Reference Books can be found in the Reference Section of the Library Stacks. They CANNOT be checked out and must be used within the Circulation Desk Area. There is a copier near the Circulation Desk where you may make copies of needed pages.
Gray's Anatomy: the Anatomical Basis of Clinical Practice
by
Not since it first published in 1858 has Gray's Anatomy introduced so much innovation to the world of anatomical references. A team of renowned clinicians, anatomists, and basic scientists have radically transformed this classic resource to incorporate all of the newest anatomical knowledge reorganized it by body region to parallel clinical practice and added many new surface anatomy, radiologic anatomy, and microanatomy images to complement the exquisite artwork that the book is known for. Although there are now many books called "Gray's Anatomy," only this 39th Edition carries on the true lineage of the original text. And, only this 39th Edition delivers so much pragmatic, clinically indispensable information. The result is, once again, the world's definitive source on human anatomy.. A new organization-by body region, rather than by organ system-parallels the way physicians approach patients. A new clinical emphasis ensures relevance to everyday practice. Updates reflect the very latest understanding of the pelvic floor · the inner ear · the peritoneum · preimplantation embryology · assisted fertilization · smooth and cardiac muscle · wrist kinematics and kinetics · the temporomandibular joint · blood supply to the muscles and skin · topographical, clinico-pathological, and functional anatomy · cross-sectional and endoscopic imaging · the spread of infection along fascial planes · anatomical landmarks that facilitate differential diagnosis · key anatomical variants throughout the body · and many other crucial areas. Almost 400 new illustrations nearly 2,000 in all, over half of them in full color-depict all structures with optimal clarity, includ¬ing surface anatomy, radiologic anatomy, and microanatomy.
Black's Medical Dictionary
by
These Electronic Books can be found through our EBSCO eBook Collection. You will be able to access the full text of the item by signing in using your SVC credentials.
301 Careers in Nursing
by
Written for nurses of all education and experience levels, 301 Careers in Nursing highlights the exceptional array of diverse opportunities available to those interested in a career in nursing. Each of the carefully selected and researched careers described in this book embraces the core dimensions of nursing: caring, competence, and commitment to excellence in caring for others at all stages of life. If you are considering a career in nursing, if you know someone who is considering a career in nursing, if you are a guidance counselor, or if you are already a nurse but considering a change, you will benefit from this resource to the most prominent careers in nursing today. This edition features 100 additional career options, with an emphasis on those available to the growing number of advanced practice nurses. Also new to this edition are 25 interviews from nurses practicing in a multitude of areas. These snapshots give you an inside look at opportunities in academia and practice settings that might be unfamiliar. Each career entry includes: Career descriptionEducational requirementsCore competencies and skillsRelated websites and professional organizations
Advanced Practice Nursing
by
The fifth edition of this topflight text on nurse practitioner role development is completely updated and expanded to encompass the full sphere of current practice roles. These include interprofessional, global health, and leadership roles and such practice issues as credentialing, prescriptive authority, and liabilities. The book encompasses the diverse expertise of contributors from a wide variety of practice settings and reflects the competencies identified by key stakeholder organizations such as the ANA, NONPF, NACNS, AANA, ACNM, and AACN. With a focus on everyday realities of APRN practice in a rapidly changing health care environment, it delivers essential information on the multifaceted role of APRNs as they transition into practice and professional arenas. The fifth edition reflects the expanding roles of the DNP and CNL and provides more detail on the transition of APRN master's and doctoral students√ particularly NPs, CNSs, CNMs, and CRNAs√ into practice. It discusses the impact of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act on health care delivery and emphasizes the APRN role in influencing health policy. New chapters address global health and differentiated roles for the APRN and APRN leadership in interprofessional teams. The text provides new information on practice issues such as credentialing, prescriptive authority, and liabilities, along with updated web resources. Additionally, the fifth edition includes an enhanced discussion of educational requirements and differentiation from certification and expanded coverage of professional issues and research-based practice (including quantitative and qualitative methodologies). The book continues to provide essential information on advanced clinical decision making, reimbursement, ethical issues, technology, and employment strategies for the APRN. New to the Fifth Edition: A chapter on global health and differentiated roles for APRNs A chapter on APRN leadership in interprofessional teams Current information on practice issues including credentialing, prescriptive authority, and liabilities Updated web resources Enhanced discussion of educational requirements and differentiation from certification Added content about DNP and CNL roles and leadership functions Expanded coverage of professional issues and evidence-based practice Information on influencing health policy Content on integrating informatics in practice Online teaching tools that include PowerPoint slides and an instructor's manual
Empirical Nursing
by
This book seeks to provide students and practicing nurses with the tools to better understand and engage in scientific arguments to support quality nursing and evidence-based practice. The nature of nursing and its relationship with science remains an area of ongoing debate, controversy and considerable confusion to both students and practitioners. For a science-based health discipline, it is something of a paradox that most nursing students have limited exposure to scientific philosophy education, which is not covered in depth in many modern university nursing programmes. This work seeks to remedy this: in providing material on modern scientific research methods, with particular emphasis on the context of practice, it presents an alternative theoretical iteration of holistic nursing as scientific inquiry. The author is a passionate advocate for empirical and pragmatic approaches to nursing, and the book provides challenging ideas to support a new wave of critical-thinking in contemporary nursing, confronting postmodern dogma with contemporary scientific critique. In doing so, this text engages readers with the art of progressive empirical client-centred care, appropriate for the development of 21st century holistic nursing practice.
Ethics in Nursing
by
Written by a nurse and a philosopher, Ethics in Nursing blends the concrete detail of recurring problems in nursing practice with the perspectives, methods, and resources of philosophical ethics. It stresses the aspects of the nurses role and relations with others -- physicians, patients, administrators, other nurses -- that give ethical problems in nursing their special focus. Among the issues addressed are deception, parentalism, confidentiality, conscientious refusal, nurse autonomy, compromise, and personal responsibility for institutional and public policy. The third edition has been enlarged with new cases and case discussions related to AIDS and an additional chapter on the expanding scope of nursing ethics as it addresses issues related to scarce resources, cost containment, justice, and the possibilities of health care rationing.
Histories of Nursing Practice
by
How did skilled nursing practice develop to become an essential part of the modern health system? This book provides some important answers to this question. It traces the history and development of nursing practice in Europe and North America, exploring two broad categories of nursing work: the 'hands-on' clinical work of nurses in hospitals and the work of nurses in public health, which involved health screening, health education and public health crisis management. The book contains rich case studies of nursing practice across diverse settings in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. As well as examining 'what nurses did', it explores the significance and meaning of nursing work, for nurses themselves, their patients and their communities, and examines developments in practice against a backdrop of social, cultural, political and economic drivers and constraints. This book will be of interest to academics and clinical nurses alike. It is also an ideal textbook for undergraduate nursing programmes, providing students with rich accounts of the history of their own disciplinary practice.
Nursing's Great Leaders
by
' This book is perfect for men and women who aspire to lead nursing and society into a better future. It will equally benefit undergraduate students enrolled in leadership courses, graduate students preparing for leadership roles, and nurses already established in leadership roles. This book] deepened my love for nursing and reinforced why nursing is repeatedly ranked the most trusted profession.' ' Susan B. Hassmiller, PhD, RN, FAAN Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Senior Adviser for Nursing Director, Campaign for Action With an emphasis on the qualities that have fostered strong nursing leadership, this book provides a unique perspective on the lives and achievements ofthe most revered nurses throughout history. It is comprised of biographies of many of nursing' s most important activist agents of change, with a focus onthose characteristics that enabled them to accomplish their goals and implement changes that improved nursing, health, health care, and society. Thesebiographies examine the evolution of nursing and society around the globe and underscore the resourcefulness and political savvy these nurses used to meetthe increasingly complex needs of society. Using Kouzes and Posner' s five practices of exemplary leadership as a framework, the biographies demonstrate how the nurses used these processes to achievetheir goals. Placed within the context and dynamics of each nurse leader' s lifetime' including gender roles, science and technology, religion, politics, andeconomics' each biography includes a personal history, timeline, accomplishments, anecdotes, and legacy. The book honors such well-known nurse leaders asFlorence Nightingale, Clara Barton, and Dorothea Dix, along with lesser known nurse leaders. By telling the stories of these luminaries, the book showcasesnursing' s rich history and its influence on society. Ultimately fostering an understanding of the very nature of leadership, it provides a strongfoundation and inspiration for nurses to lead nursing, health care, and society into a better future. KEY FEATURES: Focuses on nursing history through the lens of leadership Uses the framework of Kouzes and Posner' s five practices of exemplary leadership to analyze the achievements of nurse luminaries Considers the lives of well-known and lesser known figures in nursing history Focuses on leadership characteristics that enabled historic nurse leaders to implement important changes in global health care
Nursing and Humanities
by
The humanities have long been recognized as having a place in nursing knowledge, and have been used in education, theory, and research by nurses. However, the place of humanities in nursing has always remained ambiguous. This book offers an in-depth exploration of the relationship between humanities and nursing. The book starts with a survey of the history of humanities in nursing, in comparison with medical humanities and in the context of the emergence of interdisciplinary health humanities. There is a description of applications of humanities within nursing. A central section offers an argument for placing the humanities firmly within a mixed model of nursing knowledge that is based upon embodied cognition. Final chapters explore these ideas through a series of essays on topics of humanities as a form of intervention, prose and poetry in relation to nursing, and applications of the Buddhist concept of interdependence. Nursing and Humanities is intended primarily for nurse academics and graduate students, who have an interest in nursing theory, applications of arts and humanities in education, and qualitative research approaches. It will also interest practicing nurses who are looking for an account of nursing that combines the technical and the human.