Research Guides: Physics: Databases

Library Databases

These databases can commonly be used within the Physics Department.

Applied Science & Technology Source
Extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines by combining high-quality databases from both EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This premier resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles
Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Complete, provides full-text access to 5,700 journals and magazines. It's a great starting point for general research in a variety of subjects.

Web Databases

The following databases are open-access archives found on the web.

arXiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,230,812 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 13 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable through the new ADS modern search form as well as a classic search form. A browsable paper form is also available.
INSPIRE
INSPIRE is a trusted community hub that helps researchers to share and find accurate scholarly information in high energy physics. It serves as a one-stop information platform for HEP community, comprising 8 interlinked databases on literature, conferences, institutions, journals, researchers, experiments, jobs and data. Run in collaboration by CERN, DESY, Fermilab, IHEP, IN2P3, and SLAC, it has been serving the scientific community for almost 50 years. Previously known as SPIRES, it was the first website outside Europe and the first database on the web. Close interaction with the user community and with arXiv, ADS, HEPData, ORCID, PDG and publishers is the backbone of INSPIRE’s evolution.
Open Access Physics content
Open Access Physics content provided by WorldCat