These books are books that you can check out from the Library. You can visit the stacks to find them and check them out at the Circulation Desk. Clicking the title of the book will take you to the catalog entry, where you can also place a request for the book.
Health Movement in America: promoting fitness in America by
"American interest in health and fitness has reached extraordinary proportions and continues to grow. In this important book, Michael Goldstein argues that three recent American trends - dieting, exercise, and nonsmoking - are best regarded as interrelated aspects of a single movement." "The Health Movement begins with a cogent overview of the movement and its origins and ideology. Goldstein then focuses on the submovements of diet, exercise, and nonsmoking, showing how throughout their history the movements have had common goals and strategies and have experienced similar successes and failures. Drawing on a rich variety of sources, Goldstein draws striking conclusions about movement participation and appeal. A final chapter explores current dilemmas facing the movement and assesses its prospects for the future."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Nutrition by
Nutrition addresses the most hotly debated topics in the news today: obesity, food safety, irradiation, and vegetarianism and also describes the currently accepted principles of good nutrition for men, women, and children. Despite the abundance of advice on food and diet, more Americans are obese than ever before, diabetes rates are skyrocketing, and more foods are recalled due to contamination. It is high-time for non-biased answers to the question of what is healthy and safe to eat. Nutrition provides those answers. The book explains basic guidelines for healthy eating, along with the government's role in nutrition. It examines the issues of food safety and technology and the debates about genetically modified foods, organic foods, and vegetarian dining. Food bans, such as those on transfats are discussed, as are vitamins and supplements. After tracing the history of the study of nutrition and identifying principal researchers, the book examines seven major controversies in nutrition today. This basic guide to healthy eating will give both students and adults the tools they need to choose a diet that is healthy and safe.
Sport Psychology by
Sport Psychology is an introductory account of the major psychological issues in sport today. Major theories and up-to-date research are covered in the areas of personality, attitudes to sport, aggression in sport, anxiety and stress, social influences, motivation, and skill acquisition. A wide variety of sporting examples are used, ranging from football to ballet.
These Reference Books can be found in the Reference Section of the Library Stacks. They CANNOT be checked out and must be used within the Circulation Desk Area. There is a copier near the Circulation Desk where you may make copies of needed pages.
Encyclopedia of Sports Science by
This one-of-a-kind Encyclopedia presents physics in a refreshing new way -- by emphasizing the sports and not the science! Without the intimidating jargon, scientific information is cleverly interwoven with sports facts and stories. This balance between technical scientific information and interesting sports references makes the Encyclopedia accessible to readers of all types.
These Electronic Books can be found through our EBSCO eBook Collection. You will be able to access the full text of the item by signing in using your SVC credentials.
Handbook of Physical Education Research by
An effective planning in Physical Education entails taking into account a set of psychological, sport training-related, and pedagogical principles developed in a particular educational setting. This is a complex task that teachers usually do without the necessary time to develop it carefully. Several problems associated with this process are explained in this book. The objectives of planning in physical education, independently of the context where it will be applied, have to be aligned to the respective national standards in each country. This book explores the world of physical education in schools. It includes discussions on several topics which include a historical overview of the relation between health and physical education; new institutional designs to achieve better results for children; the role of professionally guided physical education in primary school; effects of traditional games played in physical education classes with elementary school students; school-based physical activity interventions to prevent or reduce obesity; and the psychosocial dynamics of physical education for students with disabilities.
Health Education: Challenges, Issues and Impact by
Health education is the profession of educating people about health. Areas within this profession encompass environmental health, physical health, social health, emotional health, intellectual health, and spiritual health. Recent statistics show that, in many countries, one in four individuals will experience mental illness during their lifetime, with mental health conditions contributing more to disability than any other single disease group, including cancer, diabetes and cardiovascular disease. The Emergency Department (ED) may be the only site where some isolated and marginalised mentally ill populations such as the homeless receive their healthcare -- medical as well as psychiatric. The authors of this book examine mental health and illness in the ED. Challenges presented in nursing patients who attend an ER following an incident of self-harm or attempted suicide is also examined. In addition, researchers have reported that children are involved in very few conversations with their doctors. Positive practices relating to improved doctor-child communications are discussed. Other chapters in this book examine the use of drugs among adolescents, children's and parents perceptions about managing their diabetes, a discussion on how the concept of spirituality is defined/described in the professional health literature, the importance of understanding lay appraisal of illness symptoms as a facet of successful health education interventions, and the role of primary care practice nurses in making patients aware of changes that could improve their health.
Attitudes and Perceptions Toward Physical Education by
Physical education teaching and learning efforts obviously target the student. Like parents, teachers, administrators and any other directly or indirectly involved parties, students do have opinions based on their experience on their respective physical education classes and physical education in general. These opinions, or so-called attitudes, are important to research due to their potential of giving insight to the learner's perspective, which may also serve as an authentic feedback from the student. This study investigated German secondary school students' attitudes toward physical education. Results have the intention to reveal what attitudes towards physical education German students have and which factors influence these attitudes. The study sample contained students from the different school types Gymnasium, Realschule, and Haupt-/Werkrealschule. The students were surveyed via questionnaire that was developed based on validated research instruments from prior studies in the field. Data was analyzed integrating independent variables such as students' gender, physical education grade, grade point average, body mass index, socioeconomic status, type of school, citizenship, and the exercise and physical activity behavior of students, their parents and their peers.